Pancake Day & Lent

This post was supposed to be the Meal of the Month with either a Chicken Caesar Salad, or my Spicy Mexican Tomato Pasta, but my housemate, Rosie, persuaded me to dedicate it to…

PANCAKE DAY!

However, by the time we came to do the pancakes last night, it was too dark to get any decent photos! But don’t worry, I still had my pancakes last night, I just had to do them again this morning to get some pictures!

Pinterest.png

I’m not going to bother giving you the recipe for these because if I’m quite honest, I used Mary Berry’s recipe so I’ll just give you the link instead!

I served mine with a dollop of Nutella and some red berries… YUM!


But the other reason for this post is because I’m going to talk about what I’m giving up for lent. Now, I NEVER do lent, not because I don’t want to, but because I KNOW I will fail. It’s inevitable, especially if I’m giving up chocolate.

I’m a chocoholic okay!

But this year, I AM going to give something up.

I am going to give up getting stressed about the little things.

I am going to give up putting too much pressure on myself.

I am going to give up procrastinating and wasting time.

But most of all, I am going to give up TAKEAWAYS.

You thought I was going to end that with something really philosophical didn’t you? Sorry! I am being serious about the first three things, but I am more serious about the last.

It is no lie that I get too many takeaways, not only with Angus, but with my friends and with my housemates. So my friends and I are giving them up. That’s right!. We are all going to work really hard together to get through this and we’re going to support and motivate each other so when we’re lacking energy to cook something, we have someone to push us through and make sure we don’t fail.

Giving up takeaways also means I can really concentrate on my health and fitness. How is anyone supposed to lose any weight if they get a takeaway every couple of weeks?

They don’t.

If I’m going to do this, I need to be serious about it. I need to stay focused and stay motivated and I honestly believe that by making this commitment to giving up takeaways, I will succeed.

Of course, I went out with a bang last night and demolished my favourite takeaway with my housemate… a good ol’ pepperoni pizza!

But that’s it now until Easter weekend… WISH ME LUCK!!

Amy xxx (1)

Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin’ | Pinterest

8 thoughts on “Pancake Day & Lent

    • Amy Saunders says:

      Thank you Elizabeth! Oh wow, that’s awful! How are you coping with having a young child with ME as well? I can imagine it’s difficult! I’d love to follow you on Bloglovin’ or Instagram, I’ll take a look at your blog soon! Xx

      Like

  1. Caroline says:

    Good luck! Mexican tomato pasta sounds amazing, definitely need to start making that!

    Caroline-potsandspoonsblog.wordpress.com

    Like

Leave a comment